LibGuides: Elgin High School LibGuides: Of Mice and Men

Migrant Workers

Common Lit
Mexican Migrant Workers in the 20th Century
encyclopedia.com
Articles and maps of migrant workers
The Kennedy Center
Articles and videos of the Dust Bowl Migrants
Library of Congress
Dust bowl migration- primary sources
Library of Congress
The Migrant Experience--Voices from the Dust Bowl: the Charles L. Todd and Robert Sonkin Migrant Worker Collection, 1940 to 1941
Oklahoma Historical Society
“Okie” migration articles

The Atlantic
Letters from the Dust Bowl (only allowed 3 articles per month...make sure to save the article to your Google Drive)
Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia article about the dust bowl
History.com
Detailed information about The Dust Bowl.
How Stuff Works
What caused the Dust Bowl?
National Drought Mitigation Center- University of Nebraska
Timeline, articles, pictures
PBS: The Dust Bowl
Videos, legacy, biographies about the film created by Ken Burns

The Atlantic
Newspaper article: The Lessons of the Great Depression
Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia article about The Great Depression
FDR Presidential Library and Museum
Great Depression facts, biographies, timeline and resources
Herbert Hoover Presidential Library and Museum
Article about the Great Depression
History.com
Great Depression article that contains a wide variety of detailed information.
History.com
Topic page with information about various events, photos, changes, causes and effects, etc.
The Library of Economics and Liberty
An article focused on the economics that were affected during the Great Depression
National Gallery of Art
Art during the Great Depression
PBS
Surviving the Dust Bowl: An article on the Great Depression
Smithsonian: National Museum of American History
Great Depression primary sources
U.S. Department of Labor
Official government article on the 1920’s and beginning of the Great Depression
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
An article about the Great Depression
University of Washington- Civil Rights and Labor History Consortium
Web resources about The Great Depression in Washington State

BBC Bitesize
Life for Black Americans
Encyclopedia Britannica
Encyclopedia article about African Americans during the Great Depression and the New Deal
History.com
African Americans in the Great Depression
History.com
Article: Last Hired First Fired: How the Great Depression Affected African Americans
Library of Congress
The Segregation Era
Library of Congress
Civil Rights History Collection- Articles and Essays
NAACP
History of the NAACP
National Park Service
Article “Rekindling Civil Rights, 1900-1941”
NCpedia
Segregation in the 1920s
Smithsonian National Museum of American History
Foundation of the NAACP

BBC Bitesize
The Changing Role of American Women in the 1920s
Equal Rights Amendment
History of the Equal Rights Amendment
History.com
Women in the Great Depression
History.com
An article about the 19th Amendment to the Constitution
History.com
Underpaid, But Employed: How the Great Depression Affected Working Women
Library of Congress
Historical timeline of the National Woman’s Party
National Park Service
Article: Beyond 1920: The Legacies of Woman Suffrage
Stanford University
Article: 19th Amendment is a Milestone, but not the endpoint, for women’s rights in America, says Stanford historian
University of Maryland-University Libraries
Women’s Rights article and primary source images